India wins 1st test of the Board Gavaskar Trophy 2023

Australia had chosen to bat first and could collect only 177 runs on the board as Ravindar Jadeja had a tremendous spell of 22 overs with 8 median overs and 47 runs with 5 wickets in hand. Joining the bandwagon, R. Ashwin took 3 wickets with 42 runs in 15 overs and 5 balls with 2 median overs. When the first inning of India started, Rohit Sharma played Captain’s inning of 120 runs with 15 fours and 2 sixes in 212 balls. Joined with him R. Jadeja scored 70 runs in 185 balls and Axar Patel 84 runs in 174 balls.
Both took team India in such a position because it was tough for Australia to come back in the game. India scored 400 runs in the first inning with a lead of 223 runs on the board. For Australia, off-spinner Todd Murphy was the pick of the bowlers with 7/124.


As the second inning stared Australia lost it’s first wicket early but were looking confident to chase and score runs despite the fact that the last wickets were taken by Mohammed Shami but India’s experienced bowler Ravichandran Ashwin took 5 wickets and made India win the 1st test series of the Board – Gavaskar Trophy 2023.

ICC shared a pic with caption, “Outstanding effort from India to go 1-0 up against Australia in the Border-Gavaskar Trophy.”

India has taken a 1-0 lead in the Board Gavaskar Trophy with an inning and 132 runs.

For more updates stay in touch with

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button