IPL 2022 – Winners & Losers

The 2022 Indian Premier League was the fifteenth season of the immensely popular series, which took place from 26 March 2022 to 29 May 2022. This year saw the league expand to ten competing teams, the second time to do so since the 2011 tournament. The Chennai Super Kings were the defending champions, having won the 2021 season – the fourth time they have done so.


Key Information

  • Tournament Ran from – 26 March to 29 May 2022
  • Winners – Gujarat Titans
  • Participating Teams – Ten
  • Matches – 74
  • Player of the Series – Jos Butler (Rajasthan Royals)
  • Most Runs – Jos Butler (863)
  • Most Wickets – Yuzvendra Chahal (27) (Rajasthan Royals)

The 2021 season ran late, having been postponed from April to October with some games being played outside India in UAE due to COVID. This year, a brand-new champion took the top spot in what is one of the most exciting Twenty20 cricket tournaments in the world.

Teams and Stats

Due to the inclusion of two extra teams, it was decided that 74 games would be played, compared to 60 the previous year. The ten teams were divided into two groups, containing five teams each:

Group A

  • Mumbai Indians
  • Kolkata Knight Riders
  • Rajasthan Royals
  • Delhi Capitals
  • Lucknow Super Giants

Group B

  • Chennai Super Kings
  • Sunrisers Hyderabad
  • Royal Challengers Bangalore
  • Punjab Kings
  • Gujarat Titans

After the 70 games of the League stage concluded, the four top teams moved into the playoff round. These were the Gujarat Titans, the Rajasthan Royals, the Lucknow Super Giants, and the Royal Challengers Bangalore.

The Winner of the IPL 2022

In a thrilling season which saw a large number of games be played, it all came down to the final, where the Rajasthan Royals took on the Gujarat Titans. The match took place at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad on May 29. Sanju Samson of the Rajasthan Royals won the toss and decided to bat first. 

The Royals went on to score 130 runs, losing 9 wickets in their allotted 20 overs. Needing 131 to win, the Gujarat Titans did so in 18.1 overs, losing 3 wickets along the way. Titans captain Hardik Pandya was named man of the match, making him the third captain to do so.

Betting on the IPL 2022

With 74 exciting matches taking place, there were plenty of opportunities for fans to place bets at platforms like the 24betting – cricket betting site. 

At the start of the season, the Mumbai Indians were shaping up as the favorites, while, interestingly, the Gujarat Titans were not really a favorite to win the season at all. 

Betting on the IPL doesn’t mean just picking tournament or match winners. Cricket bettors may be able to bet on all sorts of interesting markets.

And so the 2022 IPL season has wrapped up an exciting round of top cricketing action for fans of the popular sport. 

The good news for followers of cricket is there is plenty of action coming up throughout the year until the next IPL 2023 kicks off. Upcoming events include local games, test matches, and one-day internationals between a variety of sides, in India and abroad.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button