Master of Computer Application,

Master of Computer Application, popularly known as MCA is a three-year postgraduate degree course in India. This degree provides theoretical and practical knowledge in various aspects of computer applications from software, networking and hardware studies.

The minimum qualification criteria for admission in any Indian institution/college/university for obtaining a post-graduate degree in Computer Application (MCA) are that the candidate must have a Bachelor’s degree in Computer Application (BCA) or any field with Mathematics as a compulsory subject. And to get admitted for pursuing MCA one candidate must pass the entrance exam. Many exams are being held in India for MCA. Some important ones are mentioned below:

Examination Name Conductor & Website Application form (Time-period may very yearly)
National Institute of Technology MCA Common Entrance Test (NIMCET)National Institute of Technology (NITs) **Online Mode
Jawaharlal Nehru University (JNU MCA) Jawaharlal Nehru University (JNU) March **Online mode
Banaras Hindu University Post Graduate Entrance Exam (BHU PET MCA) Banaras Hindu University (BHU) January **Online Mode
Joint Entrance for Masters of Computer Applications (JECA) West Bengal Joint Entrance Examination Board (WBJEE) March-April **Online mode
Delhi University MCA (DU MCA) Delhi University (DU) April **Online Mode
Maharashtra Masters of Computer Applications Common Entrance Test (MAH MCA CET) State Common Entrance Test Cell of Maharashtra January – February **Online mode.
Birla Institute of Technology MCA Admission Test (BIT MCA) Birla Institute of Technology (BIT) March – May **Online mode

Exam pattern (Brief-overview):

  1. NIMCET:
    • Offline mode
    • 2 hrs
    • 120 MCQs of 4 marks each
    • 4 sections – Mathematics, Analytical ability & Logical reasoning, General English and Computer awareness
  2. JNU MCA:
    • Online Mode(CBT)
    • 3 hrs
    • 100 MCQs of 1 mark each
    • No negative marking
    • Online Mode(CBT)
    • 2 hrs
    • 120 MCQs (80 from mathematics and 60 from rest) of 3 marks each
    • 2 sections – Mathematics, Analytical and Logical Reasoning
  4. JECA:
    • Offline mode
    • 3 hrs (2+1)
    • 150 MCQs (100 from Mathematics & 50 from Aptitude)
    • Correct answer = 1 mark & Wrong Answer = Deduction of 0.25 mark
  5. DU MCA:
    • • Online mode
    • 2 hrs
    • 50 MCQs of 4marks each
    • Wrong answer = Deduction of 1 mark
    • 4 sections – English, Mathematics, Computer Science, and Logical Ability.
    • • Online mode
    • 1 hr (90 minutes)
    • 4 sections – Mathematics & Statistics, Logical/ Abstract Reasoning, English comprehension & verbal ability and Computer Concepts
    • 100 MCQs of 2 marks each
    • Wrong answer = deduction of 0.5 mark
  7. BIT MCA:
    • • Online Mode
    • 2 hrs
    • 120 MCQs (60 from mathematics and 20 from each of rest) each of 4 marks
    • 4 sections – Mathematics, Analytical ability & Logical Reasoning, Computer Awareness and English
    • Wrong answer = deduction of 1 mark


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here